Development matters

The Development Matters section of the EYFS Framework shows the developmental milestones a child will achieve between birth to five. Your child will be learning skills, acquiring new knowledge and demonstrating their understanding through 7 areas of learning and development within the development matters.

The Development Matters section is divided into two areas of development, Prime and Specific.

Prime areas

  • Personal, social and emotional development.
  • Communication and language.
  • Physical development.

The prime areas begin to develop quickly in response to relationships and experiences. They are most essential and fundamental for your child’s healthy development, future learning and are key to successful learning and development.

Specific areas

  • Literacy.
  • Mathematics.
  • Understanding the world.
  • Expressive arts and design.

The specific areas develop and build on from the prime areas of learning, including essential skills and knowledge.

These 7 areas are used to help guide us to be able provide activities and experiences to help your child be ready for their next stage learning. Each area of development shows from birth to five years, each developmental milestone for a child. Each area is broken down in to smaller aspects.



‘I would recommend Choochoos, as they are very good for development and I can’t rate them enough’, (Parent, March 2020).


Characteristics of effective learning

The Characteristics of Effective Learning are a strong theme throughout the EYFS and underpin learning and development across all areas of learning, ensuring children are:

Playing and exploring – engagement

  • Finding out and exploring.
  • Playing with what they know.
  • Be willing to have a go.

Active learning – motivation

  • Being involved and concentrating.
  • Keeping trying.
  • Enjoying achieving what they set out to do.

Creating and thinking critically – thinking

  • Having their own ideas.
  • Making links.
  • Choosing of ways to do things.